New Beginnings

I’m going to be honest. I have a blog on another domain already. I’m trying to figure out which domain I like best. Part of that will include feedback from you, the reader, on which one you think is better. I suppose that will also take into account which blog you like better. My other blog, “A Wee Little Bark”, is about my recent move to Scotland and the experiences I’m having over here. I’m sure there will be some overlap as I continue to live in Scotland and my adventures are happening here. However, the other blog is geared toward keeping friends and family in the loop while there’s an ocean between us. As of right now, this blog will be my extended-twitter, facebook supplement, travel story and random thought collection. There is no plot. Although I suppose that is usually the case with blogs.

Anyway, here’s what you should know.

My name is Kaitlin. I currently call Casco Point, Minnesota home although it’s not where I live at the moment. I’m in my first year of a two-year masters in physiotherapy program in Aberdeen, Scotland. I have a dog, Maddie, who is currently staying with my mom back in MN. I miss her like crazy. She was supposed to join me out here this July, but what was a suspected $300 animal cargo ticket turned into a $1500 animal cargo ticket. I have moved a lot in my life (CA-HI-CA-MN-HI-CA-MN-LA-CA-MN-Scotland) and put a premium on traveling. I also went to three universities for my undergrad. I have two separate degrees in kinesiology and psychology. I lived in New Orleans when Katrina hit and deal with post traumatic stress disorder on a daily basis. However, I am generally optimistic and outgoing and have constructed a “village” to keep me together. I am an alum of what is, in my opinion, the best sorority ever and the sisterhood I developed with them still holds strong to this day. I am also the last standing “sweetheart” for a small, but wonderful fraternity in MN where I found a hilarious group of boys and a couple friends who sometimes know me better than I know myself. I love reading, but I rarely read any of the great literary works, although I am trying to start. I love being active, but I hate working out. I never understood why someone would associate a physical and healthy lifestyle with work–like the place you have to go to in the morning despite your best efforts to stay wrapped up in bed. I am not religious, but I am strong in my convictions. I am my father’s daughter–stubborn and always right, but sensitive once the outer layers are peeled back. I’ve made a lot of mistakes, but I’ve learned from them. I love volunteering, non-profit work, and using my sad princess look to get people to join in on the fun. I am excellent at two things that do not normally go hand in hand: procrastinating and time management. I like to organize and clean… a lot. Although I absolutely hate doing dishes. I have lived by four quotes that I think sum up to express that you only get one shot at life, so you better make it a good one. Sometimes, a fifth or sixth quote will fit in for a while as well, but these are my favorites:

“Simple pleasures are the best.” -A fortune cookie I got in sixth grade.

“Life is far too short not to have a little umbrella in your drink.” -Curly Girl Designs

“Things turn out best for the people who make the best of the way things turn out.” -John Wooden

“The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.” -Albert Einstein

I suppose that’s all I really need to say for now. You’ll learn more about me as time passes and the blog grows. As has always been the case for my blogs, if you have questions, comments, concerns, suggestions, just let me know!

Enjoy!

One thought on “New Beginnings

  1. Pingback: Pinterest–The New Study Break | Adventures of The Mischief Machine

Leave a Reply

