The Travel Bug

I’ve got the travel bug given recent developments with school and an upcoming trip to Ibiza, Spain planned for the end of my practical exams. As I’ve mentioned before, I like to be organized, so of course I have a variety of travel books. I thought I’d share a couple of my favorites in case any of you are looking for some inspiration.

Lonely Planet: Europe on a Shoestring

I have this on my Kindle which is quite light. However the book itself is quite cumbersome. When my friend, Lisa, was studying abroad in Dublin, she would leave the book at home when she traveled, but tear out the relevant pages and take them with her. This book breaks things up by country, but also has a section highlighting big events for each month and season.

Traveling Solo: Advice and Ideas for more than 250 Great Vacations

I bought this book right before I graduated college and used it to plan about half of my month-long journey through Europe that following summer. I didn’t have any specific travel partners so this book was great for preparing my pricing expectations and really seeing what’s available. I took advantage of Contiki Holidays for 18-35’s and Ecole des Trois Ponts.

A Year of Adventures: A Guide to the World’s Most Exciting Experiences

Some of these vacations are definitely a bit spendy, however it’s great for getting an idea of where to go and when. I’m hoping to do the GoldenEye Bungee Jump in Switzerland either this summer or next.

And don’t forget the handiness of a World Atlas.

Leave a Reply

