Everyday I’m Shufflin’

Thank goodness for places like Ibiza, Spain.

On Wednesday night I boarded the bus to Glasgow with my “Ibiza or Bust” mentality and didn’t give up until I was on the beach in San Antonio Bay on Thursday afternoon. Ibiza is a tiny island off the coast of Valencia, Spain with a reputation of beautiful beaches and exciting night life. I went with 6 classmates and I definitely took advantage of the beautiful weather and beaches. Although the high season doesn’t start for another week, I was able to take advantage of some of the night life. I will admit, however, to not having the stamina to last until sunrise like some of my travel companions.

This weekend in Ibiza, all the clubs and restaurants were handling last minute preparations for their Summer Grand Openings and there was a gathering of the Harley Davidson Riders-Ibiza Chapter and a traditional Spanish saints festival. I spent my time walking around town with the other early risers and spending time on the beach with the early arrivers. The food was delicious and the were most often comprised of delicious and traditional Spanish sangria and seafood paella. I didn’t do much sight-seeing, but I did enjoy experiencing the Spanish culture for the first time. It makes me even more excited to get to the mainland later in the year.

Tomorrow it’s back to the grind of preparation at school for our first placements and, if all goes as planned, I’ll be heading up to Inverness next weekend for six weeks. However, I will be dreaming of Ibiza until then I’m sure.

July 6-11 is my next extended break from school and ideas are buzzing about in my mind. I can’t wait to share more of my travels with the world!

Leave a Reply

