How To Fail at Following a Recipe Without Really Trying

Over the past couple days I have been going through old magazines to take a peak at the articles I flagged. In the June 2011 issue of Red Magazine (the one with Kate Hudson on the front), there’s a section of recipes dedicated to “Salads with Bite”. On the first page, there is a beautifully presented picture of salad with avocado, green beans, mango and raw salmon. Tonight, I tried to replicate this salad only to discover that in skimming over the recipe and the rest of the magazine I did not correctly remember the exact ingredients when I went to the store.

The original recipe asked for lightly smoked salmon filet, green beans, mango, avocadoes, red chillis, spring onions, salt and pepper, and coriander. The suggested dressing was a lime and ginger dressing.

What I ended up creating by accident comprised of lightly smoked salmon filet, green beans, mango, avocadoes, asparagus, beets and water cress. I used a balsamic dressing.

My mom always gives me a hard time for not following recipes as I am supposedly a “beginner” chef. Never mind the fact that I grew up in her kitchen, my grandmothers’ kitchens, and went to cooking school in France a couple years ago. I think this accident was a beautiful mistake, though, and it was definitely a satisfying dinner.

Bon appétit!

 

Leave a Reply

