Pinterest–The New Study Break

Remember, how in my very first post, I mentioned being good at two things that don’t usually go hand-in-hand: procrastination and time management? Well, that has certainly proved to be true in the last week. And now, thanks to Pinterest, I am getting even better at the procrastination part.

I know I’m not anywhere near the first person to jump on the Pinterest bandwagon, but I thought I would share a few things about it while I’m putting off writing my school paper.

Pinterest is basically a computer-based bulletin board for all those things you find that inspire you. I wish I could scan in the things I still find in magazines and add them, but alas, I do not have a scanner (or printer, for that matter). Nevertheless, as you tool around the internet and find things you like (of the image variety), you can simply “pin” it and it gets saved to your Pinterest account (boards, specifically) with the location where you snagged it from. You can have boards for any topic you like. I personally have boards dedicated to places, food, fashion, future home design, dogs, and random finds (like the picture above). I really like being able to find the things I like and just send them to the “mothership” to be held safe, instead of favorite-ing everything and having to dig through all the websites later trying to figure out what in the world I liked about a particular page.

I’ve been trying to figure out what the H-E-Double-Hockey-Sticks to do with my bedroom at my dad’s house for ages. It needs to be something that expresses “me” but also agrees with “guests” as it is the room in the house most often used to home the stragglers in the Village over the weekends. So, here are a few of my favorite ideas stolen straight off Pinterest.

I love the gray and yellow color scheme for my bedroom. It’s colorful, but still light. Just what the small, odd-shaped room needs. The funny part is that, although my room is about 2 feet wider, this is the exact shape of the wall my bed sits on.

I really like this method of hanging pictures, especially for such a small room. I love having pictures up, but just hanging on one nail on the wall within inches of my head is a bit disconcerting. This seems much sturdier and much more artistic.

There’s not a lot of space in my room to add character so a bookcase made of old apple crates seems to be a great way to show a little style and keep all my books and knick-knacks together .

Now, if only I could find some design inspiration for my four-foot tall, trapezoidal closet(s) beyond the elfa organizational system I installed two years ago.

One thought on “Pinterest–The New Study Break

  1. I’ve been trying to avoid Pinterest like the plague because I know the moment I start Pinning, I will absolutely never stop. I love that idea for hanging pictures!

Leave a Reply

