Bundle o’ Something

Let’s discuss the definition of “homesick.”

According to the dictionary, homesick is an adjective to describe someone experiencing a longing for one’s home during a period of absence from it.

Now, let’s discuss the definition of “stress.”

Here, the dictionary describes stress as a state of mental or emotional strain or tension resulting from adverse or very demanding circumstances.

Now, let’s discuss what happens to the human body when a serious bout of homesickness and a serious bout of stress decide to reside together in one “soul.”

I assure you, it is not pleasant. In fact, I’m not even sure there’s a word for how I’m feeling right now. Throbbing, light-sensitive, front-to-back headache is where I would begin to describe this sensation. Exhausting and beyond explainable fatigue.

I’m currently chalking it up to a bundle of nerves, but who really knows? This isn’t my normal stress reaction. In fact, I’m usually quite good at handling stress. However, I think it’s the addition of the homesick factor that may be making this more difficult.

One of the things that bothers me the most is that all this pain, stress, and homesickness turns me into a whiney little girl. I hate being whiney. My whining should really only be reserved for my dad.

Grr.

How do you handle stress?

What do you do to get rid of “the worst headache ever?”

Leave a Reply

