Upgrade for a Cause

I grew up in a military family. When I was in undergrad a lot of my friends were military. I’ve been considering the military as part of my future PT career for the last few years. So, to say I appreciate the military is the understatement of the year.

Before you stop reading this post in fear of it becoming a political message let me just say that it’s not my intention to write anything of the sort.

The purpose of this post is to turn you on to an idea that hasn’t reached every airport or corner of the world, but it is growing in popularity and it’s always nice to know about options to show appreciation for the men and women who stand on the line for us every day.

The idea?

Upgrade a Soldier!

The first articles/blog posts I’ve read about it actually happening in real life, and not just in theory, came from JohnnyJet. I’ve been following him on Twitter (@JohnnyJet) and he has recently made a couple posts about this nice gesture of appreciation. Take a read!

Upgrade a Soldier (Part 1)

Upgrade a Soldier (Part 2)

I haven’t had the opportunity to do this myself as I am living on a grad student budget and a grad student schedule, which don’t allow for the accumulation of many frequent flier miles. But, believe me, I would if I could.

In case anyone needs any extra inspiration to support our troops, keep in mind some (or all) of the words from Toby Keith’s song, “American Soldier.” (The following is an excerpt.)

I don’t do it for the money
There’s bills that I can’t pay
I don’t do it for the glory
I just do it anyway
Providing for our future’s my responsibility
Yeah I’m real good under pressure
Being all that I can be

And I can’t call in sick on Mondays
When the weekends been too strong
I just work straight through the holidays
And sometimes all night long
You can bet that I stand ready when the wolf growls at the door
Hey, I’m solid, hey I’m steady, hey, I’m true down to the core

And I will always do my duty no matter what the price
I’ve counted up the cost, I know the sacrifice
Oh, and I don’t want to die for you
But if dyin’s asked of me
I’ll bear that cross with honor
‘Cause freedom don’t come free

I’m an American soldier, an American
Beside my brothers and my sisters I will proudly take a stand
When Liberty’s in jeopardy, I will always do what’s right
I’m out here on the front line
Sleep in peace tonight
American soldier, I’m an American soldier

Leave a Reply

