A Very Shenanigan Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving in my family usually consists of three to four separate and equally filling dinners—usually within mere hours of each other. And while I’m probably the least festive of my family when it comes to Thanksgiving, I wasn’t about to forgo it simply because I’m on the other side of the ocean. Let’s be serious here: I was forced to be in class on the Fourth of July. I was definitely not about to go to class on Thanksgiving.

So, I planned a trip to Germany. But not the Germany most people know. I ventured all the way to Germany for a small slice of America.

As with a good portion of my travel adventures, this one did not go off without a hitch. But, the one thing I’ve learned over the years is to just take it in stride… and it doesn’t hurt to sample the liquor at the duty free stores.

Hitch #1: I figured out before my departure from Aberdeen that there was a shuttle service that ran from the main Frankfurt airport to Frankfurt Hahn, so I planned to take that to cut down on driving for Tony. Well, suffice it to say, that didn’t happen. The last bus left ten minutes before I could make it to it. Not due to a lack of effort on my part though. I sped through customs, the terminal tram system and down the corridor of terminal two. But alas, I didn’t make it.

Hitch #2: The trains to where I was going were done running for the night. I took that poor train travel center agent through maybe 20 different stations before we found one remotely close to my final destination. Even then the train wouldn’t arrive until 1:15 am.

Hitch #3: Tony’s car had basically dropped all but 3rd and 4th gear on the way to the train station. This turned out to be especially entertaining when reverse wasn’t an option and we had a parking spot to leave and a patio in front of us. Once the Polizei left the premises, we resolved to give the car a little rock and drive up and turn around on the patio before pulling back into the parking lot.

I could just call “Shenanigans!” here and the story could be done, but what’s “A Very Shenanigan Thanksgiving” without Thanksgiving?

Thursday morning, I introduced Tony to the song and music video “Red Solo Cup.” To everyone who had/has to endure the aftermath of that decision, I give you my sincerest apologies.

Hitch #4: Tony had misplaced his turkey baster. We resolved to baste the ham with a small Blue Solo Cup. This did not go undocumented via photos. And, yes, he changed the song to accommodate his color selection.

How to: Baste a turkey on the fly.

Thanksgiving dinner was excellent. Everything I could have wanted in a Thanksgiving dinner. Good food. Good company. Good fun. LOTS of good fun. So much fun, in fact, that I think it’s best for me to simply skip to the part of the story where I woke up with an obnoxious hangover on Friday morning. Sorry, folks, but my amazing antics after multiple glasses of wine, cans of beer, solo cups of scotch–a wee nip at a time, and one shot of vodka should pretty much go undocumented.

So yes, I woke up hungover, like everyone should on Black Friday. So, I slept. And slept. And slept. Until it was time for another Thanksgiving!

Friday’s Thanksgiving brought on a new venue with new jokes and fun games. I was thankfully MUCH more sober for this Thanksgiving. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever been so happy to consume endless amounts of Coca-Cola. Still, there was good food, good company, and good fun. And we capped off the evening by watching LSU kick Arkansas’s B-U-T-T in College Football.

Yes, I’d say it was a successful Thanksgiving.

Stay tuned for tales of continuing Shenanigans from Luxembourg and my trip back to Aberdeen.

One thought on “A Very Shenanigan Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

