One Down, One To Go

Sailing in Orkney. Toto, I don't think we're in Kansas anymore.

Well, it’s official!

I’m half way done!

Essentially, all that learning garbarge is out of the way and it’s time to go get the rest of our practical experience.

I’m totally kidding about learning being garbage. If you know me well, you know that I actually think learning is quite the opposite. However, I am very excited for all my practical experience!

What’s Happened?

  • Prinicples of Health Improvement and Exercise Prescription
  • Physiotherapy Practice 1 & 2
  • Physiotherapy Pathways
  • Research Methods
  • Placement 1 & 2

What’s Next?

  • *Research Project*
  • Context of Practice
  • Physiotherapy Service Development
  • Placement 3, 4, 5, and 6

Placement 1 was in Inverness. Placement 2 was in Stonehaven. Placement 3 is due to be back in Inverness. Placement 4 is due to be in Inverurie. Placement 5’s location has yet to be determined, but there is a chance it will be in Orkney. Placement #6 is our elective placement, which means we are given the opportunity to set it up pretty much anywhere we want and in any area of focus we like. So, suffice it to say, I will not be in Aberdeen for that one. (If you’ve been a regular reader for a while, you probably know where I’m aiming for, but if not, I suppose you’ll have to wait for that information once I have it all set up.)

I’m currently drafting my research proposal for my research project (systematic review), but the general focus is on “Posture Control in Cerebral Palsy.” I’m really excited to be learning more about cerebral palsy since it’s actually quite a common disorder in children, so hopefully I can keep up with the work load. If any of you academic types have any suggestions for places to look for information outside of my university’s library databases, feel free to chime in!

I took a look at the APTA Jobs website this morning and it’s still looking like I’ll be able to get a job soon after I qualify and take my board exams, so I’m feeling optimistic. I even looked at a job outside Anchorage, Alaska! When my classmate asked me if I would actually consider moving to Alaska I responded with “I moved from Minnesota to Scotland. I think I can handle Alaska.” Who knows though? Anybody have any information on Alaska?

Leave a Reply

