Taco Night

I had a bunch of friends here in Aberdeen help me out with all the trials and tribulations of moving house so, on Thursday, I threw a Taco Night to show my appreciation for all their help.

Thankfully, I have a set of storage cabinets along one of the walls in the living room that did great double duty as a buffet. So, I set up all the fixings, everyone lined up, and before I knew it the tacos were gone and my windowsill had become a dance floor. I can only imagine what the people waiting at the stoplights down below thought.

Mischief Machine Tacos (Chicken or Beef and Flour or Corn Tortilla options)

  • Chicken sliced for stir fry
  • Ground beef
  • Flour tortillas
  • Corn tortillas
  • Refried beans
  • Shredded lettuce
  • Diced green, red, and orange peppers
  • Diced onions
  • Diced tomatoes
  • Shredded cheese
  • Salsa
  • Guacamole (I made college student guac which I’ll explain later.)

I’d love to go on and on about how to prepare tacos, but lets be serious, it’s really just chopping veggies and piling them on to a tortilla. Besides, everyone makes tacos differently. I like to put the refried beans on the tortilla first because it’s sticky enough to hold all the toppings in the taco. Then I top it all with salsa and guacamole to weigh down the toppings that aren’t secured by the refried beans. However, I was given a hard time for putting the sauces at the end of the buffet because some people like to put them on the tortilla first. This is one instance when a round table where everyone could just reach from one spot would have come in handy.

As for “College Student Guac,” it’s really the simplest method I know for making guacamole because it is literally two ingredients and you don’t have to worry about spices and all that stuff college students never have around.

  1. Mash up however many avocados you want.
  2. Pour in your favorite salsa.
  3. Mix together.

It’s hard to say how much salsa to add exactly since the number of avocados isn’t exact, but the consistency should be thin enough to dip a chip in without breaking, but thick enough to stay on the chip after dipping.

It was a pretty basic dinner all together, but it’s always nice to throw something together for good friends and have lots of fun debating the science of taco making.

How do you like to make your tacos?

Leave a Reply

