Reverb 11 | Prompt 4 | Leap

My friend, Kat, has been following along with this whole Reverb movement and I have decided to take her lead and try writing about one of the prompts for myself.

I decided to simply pick a prompt I like instead of going with the specific one for the day. So, yeah, let’s go with that.

The prompt?

Leap.  What leap of faith did you take this year?  Did you hold your nose and jump off the end of the diving board, or did you look before you leapt?  Were you scared, or was it a relief?

So, I moved to Scotland in January. From Minnesota. Yep, that happened. For school. For me. Not for anyone else. It was definitely a leap that had an air of spontaneity even though I did prepare for it really well once I made the decision I was going. I guess the decision was a leap, but I looked before I leapt into the move itself.

The move was a relief in the sense that I was finally going to grad school. I’d been waiting for grad school for what seemed like forever and there I was. I was headed to grad school.

However, the last month before I left was as nerve-wrecking as a move gets. How am I going to get through school? How am I going to make friends? How am I going to make a life there? How will I get on without my dog? How will I get on without my family? How will I get on without my friends? How will I get on without the most comfortable couch in the world? How am I going to get on without driving for such a long time? Will I survive crossing traffic that requires me to look right instead of left when I first cross the road?

Yeah, there were a lot of questions. That’s not even scratching the surface.

Luckily, as my dad says, “It’s only a plane ride away.” Ok, so, it’s a really long plane ride away, but it’s still only a plane ride away.

Thankfully, I have an amazing support system back home. Even when, in May, I was ready to book a one-way ticket home and I sent out a mass email asking for additional perspectives. To be honest, most of my friends were ready to pick me up off the tarmac in Minneapolis because I wanted out so bad. Still, they supported me when I decided to stick it out a bit longer. I couldn’t have asked for a better support network.

Now, here I am, almost a year later, preparing for a three-week trip home. And I’m scared to think that it’s going to be another leap to get back on the plane to Aberdeen when it’s over. This year has had a lot of ups and downs. In fact, it’s quite possible I leapt onto a trampoline. I don’t know yet if I’m going to be one of those kids who bounces too high and too awkward and falls off and breaks something (because, let’s face it, if it were a literal leap on a trampoline, I would be the one to fall off and break something), but I’m still enjoying the ride for the most part.

And just for the sake of brightening up this post, I’ll remind you of my actual, physical leap from the Verzasca Dam (Contra Dam) in Switzerland this summer. The GoldenEye Bungee Jump. Yep, that was epic. I had been planning for that for a while, but when it came time to actually do it, I signed my life away on the German waiver without a second thought, winked at the jump master, and threw my body off the edge of the platform on the count of three. Shriek of excitement, bounce, bounce, bounce, relax–tethered to a glorified rubber band. Yeah, that’s something I’m excited to tell my grandkids about. “Guess what kids, I used to be a badass!” “Woohoo! We have the coolest granny ever!” That’s definitely going to happen. Hopefully over some important meal with the whole family present so I can be labeled as the granny who says “badass”.

Leave a Reply

