The (No) Shopping Challenge

Today, I went to visit my friend, Nikki, at a local retail store while she worked away the afternoon. I wondered, before entering the mall, if I could get in and out without buying any clothes. (Fail. By the way. But we’ll chat about that later.) Then I wondered if I could possibly last until July without purchasing any clothes. That seemed more than daunting. But then I thought, what if I gave myself just a little bit of leeway? For example, what if I allowed myself to buy one item from Warehouse, one item from French Connection, and one item that I absolutely adore, covet, and looks amazing on me that has been marked down a significant amount? No clothes until July, except for three items? Now, that seems a bit more feasible.

This is not to say that I’m a big shopper. In fact, I’m quite good about not shopping very much. And when I do shop, I stick to classics with a twist that are good quality for low cost and mix into my current wardrobe well. For example, as I was wandering around the mall today, I came across a beautiful purple coat at Oasis. I don’t really have a nice coat and I’ve been on the lookout for quite some time. I saw this coat on the sale rack and saw that it had been marked down from £100 to £75 to £50, and now? £25! Oh, but wait, today students get an additional 20% off. So I got a nice, beautiful, purple coat for a wonderful £20 ($31). Yes, please and thank you.

Voilà! The Purple Coat.

So, challenge to myself: No buying any clothes until July 1, except for  one item from Warehouse, one item from French Connection, and one item that I absolutely adore, covet, and looks amazing on me that has been marked down a significant amount. At the moment, I’m dreaming about this little darling…

Yum.

What do you think? Do you think I can do it?

Could you do it?

What would your exceptions be to the shopping ban?

6 thoughts on “The (No) Shopping Challenge

  1. If you’re strong…you’ll resist. Oh, please, what am I saying? I resisted for months — I don’t consider myself a “shopper” (I can go for months and months and not make a single purchase of anything), but then…then the New Year’s sales came, and I almost wept with joy on the shoe floors of several department stores (New York City makes lunch hours so ridiculously dangerous — I can do damage in 15 minutes) where I promptly purchased four pairs of the most fabulous stilettos. I say, “Get it!” Especially since it’s marked down. Notice, I said “New Year’s sales” above. I’m all about being fierce on a budget!

    • The New Years sales totally get me every time! I’m actually quite glad I wasn’t in the UK for Boxing Day this year. That had the potential to be very dangerous.

  2. Pingback: Thoughts on the No Shopping Challenge | Adventures of The Mischief Machine

  3. Pingback: Updates Galore | Adventures of The Mischief Machine

Leave a Reply

