Reflection on “A Little Bit of Heaven”

The other night I was perusing the depths of iTunes for movies to rent and I came across an “early release” for Kate Hudson’s film “A Little Bit of Heaven.” Based on the abbreviated synopsis, I thought it would turn out to be some sort of pick-me-up film. And, come on, look at the promo poster. Doesn’t that seem to suggest a “happy ending” to you?

Before I go on, let me just say, I was wrong. Tear. Jerker.

So, here’s the synopsis that was offered on iTunes:

A LITTLE BIT OF HEAVEN is a love story set in New Orleans about an irreverent young woman who unexpectedly falls in love with her doctor. Marley Corbett (Kate Hudson) is young, beautiful, and wildly funny, but she’s afraid of opening herself up to true love and commitment. Though she uses her humor to prevent matters from getting serious, a life-changing visit to her doctor (Gael Garcia Bernal) sends both of them on an eye-opening adventure of mutual discovery, leading to revelations neither thought possible.

When I started watching the movie, I was initially just excited to see a movie set in New Orleans, with Kate Hudson in it. I mean, that ticks most of my movie standards boxes right there. (Can you tell I’m not much of a film geek?) But it got interesting…

Recently, I’ve had to deal with losing a loved-one to cancer too soon and too fast. So, when Marley finds her self afflicted with Stage 4 Colon Cancer, I’m already freaking out a bit. Then, she gets involved with a guy knowing she’s “leaving”. Hmm, that also strikes home a bit. And then, it’s in the colorful, lively city that is New Orleans (a city that I love), but seems tainted by loss. Well, that makes 3 for 3, we have a tear-jerker!

It was a hard movie to watch. Almost every element, every character, every location hit home with me. It was one of those movies that didn’t seem like it could be far from my own life, if things went all topsy-turvy.

Anyway, it’s not an Oscar-winner, but I thought it was a good movie. I’m glad I didn’t go see it in theaters, though, because no mascara could defend against those crocodile tears.

Leave a Reply

