Rescue 9-1-1 for Hair

I haven’t had my hair cut since December.

I’ve endured a long Scottish winter/spring/summer (they all blend together).

I spent a week and a half in the sun and splashing in the ocean.

To say my hair is aching for some love would be an understatement.

BUT, it still looks relatively healthy.

The good health of my hair is something I’m blessed with, but that’s not to say it needs a little help when I’m being too stubborn to visit a stylist in Aberdeen.

So, I thought I’d share my Hair Recue routine in case anyone has been needing some pointers.

1) Abolish or seriously cut down on the use of heat tools. Bye-bye blow dryer, flat iron, curling iron, and anything else that puts extra heat into your hair.

2) Use a deep-conditioner 2-3 times per week. I like the John Frieda Full Repair Deep Conditioner and keep it on for as long as humanly possible while you are in the shower. I clip mine up and get on with exfoliating, shaving my legs and all those other grueling shower tasks so it has a good few minutes to set in.

3) At the end of your shower, douse your hair with cool(er) water. I hate cold showers like the rest of you, but the cool water sort of seals up the hair so it’s not so easily dehydrated during the rest of the day.

4) Once you’ve towel dried your hair after the shower, coat the ends in a nourishing hair oil. I like Moroccan Oil because a little goes a long way, it smells delicious, and it’s not greasy when your hair dries. (If you must use a blow dryer, put a little oil on the ends afterward as well.)

5) I generally like to avoid hair products because they can be really drying to the hair, but when I absolutely need something to hold my strands in place, I use a light salt spray (and bobby pins/spin pins) instead of hair spray because there’s usually no, or less, alcohol in it.

6) If you live in a windy climate (like, oh, say… Scotland), consider wearing buns while you get from point A to point B so the ends of your hair aren’t thrashing about. Spin pins are great for putting little effort into the bun, but still being able to take them out without any crimping of the hair, unlike hair ties.

Leave a Reply

