The Big Question

So, yeah, I’ve been a bit MIA as of late. Sorry. I do have a few funny stories to regale you with, but those will come eventually. I figured I’d use this first post after finishing out my summer holidays to address The Big Question.

You know how, whenever you return home after being away for a while, there seems to be a theme in the questions people ask you. Last time I was home, everyone wanted to know how school was going. That was as complicated to answer then as it is now. But I went with it.

This time, there was a new question. And I suppose I should have expected this question given that it is me people are asking, and not a “settled down” graduate student. But, I was anticipating the “What area of practice are you going to go into?” question. And I have a short and sweet answer to that: Pediatrics or Neurological Rehab. Easy. Instead, I got the “Where are you going to end up?” question.

Fair question. But here’s the problem: I don’t have the slightest idea. Meaning, I don’t have a good answer.

Because of where I chose to attend physiotherapy school, I have the option to work in the US, the UK, and the EU. And to be honest with you, I could probably go elsewhere as well without much trouble. Additionally, I don’t have many remaining emotional ties to anywhere in the US. I mean, I did have the realization during the last couple days at home that if/when I move away from Minneapolis, I’m going to have a hard time getting all the free stuff I managed to pull out of a hat while I was home. But, that’s not exactly a valid reason for staying anywhere (in my humble opinion, of course).

In the past, I had the super awesome idea of heading to San Francisco or Boston. But then I thought, what about Austin or Chicago? Oh, and don’t forget about the possibility of being able to take advantage of the Rural and Underserved Loan Forgiveness (still up for debate in some branch of government). But, then I thought, wait, I can register earlier in the UK, so what if I stayed here (not in Aberdeen, of course)? And what about registering in France or Norway? Oh, and remember how I used to want to work for the US Armed Forces (branch yet to be determined)?

So, yeah, I have no idea… to say the least.

I suppose it’s not the worst problem to have. I have the freedom to go where the jobs are (likely the US). As long as Maddie can come with me, I will consider the option. At this point, I’ve resolved to just simply register in the UK, prep for the US Exam, and just apply, apply, apply, wait, wait, wait, and GO!

 

One thought on “The Big Question

Leave a Reply

