Escapism at its finest.

Do you ever have those days where your mind strays so far from reality, you completely forget what you should be doing in your real life?

Many of you know that I have a hard time living in the present and can more often be caught thinking about the future. Unfortunately, that means certain ongoing projects of mine are thrown by the wayside while I daydream about life after those projects are completed.

Lately, in an effort to escape the impending dooms that are the end of the Research Project and the upcoming election, I’ve resorted to checking the online sites for People and The Daily Mail… a lot. Like, way more than any sane, non-Beverly-Hills-Housewife should. And I’ve been imagining a life where I live happily ever after with a particular Olympic swimmer…

So, I can, in fact, tell you that Prince Harry is in Afghanistan, Ryan Lochte lost his chance with Blake Lively as she just got married to Ryan Reynolds this weekend, Kristen Stewart is in complete denial about the future of her relationship with Rob Pattinson, and Reese Witherspoon still hasn’t had her baby yet.

Seriously, I should not be worrying about all that. That SHOULD NOT be the news I’m checking. I should actually be researching the presidential candidates. I should be evaluating sources for my research project. I should be going through my Sinhala language software. But, no. I’m being a poor excuse for a girl of the world and catching up on celebrity gossip.

Escapism at it’s finest, folks.

Don’t get me wrong. I can appreciate the odd daydream and fantasy. But I think it’s gotten a bit out of hand.

Anybody been feeling similar at all lately?

One thought on “Escapism at its finest.

Leave a Reply

