31 Days

In 31 days, I will be on the ground in Sri Lanka.

The list of things I need to accomplish before then is so daunting that I have somehow managed to avoid all of it for the last two days.

School: Personal Development Plan, Service Development Proposal, Research Project

Extra-Curricular: Conference in Liverpool, Setting up Letters of Recommendation, Learning Sinhalese, Professional Website

Personal: Sorting, Donating, Trashing, Cleaning, Packing (!)

I’m still waiting to hear where my January placement will be. I’ve started to get a bit nervous because, if they don’t find me a place before I leave for Sri Lanka, I’ll be at least 12 time zones away and trying to set up short term housing and other arrangements when I finally do get a placement. The last I heard was “2 places in Washington state and somewhere warm, although I can’t remember where.” But let’s be serious, everywhere is warm compared to Scotland.

I’ve realized lately that I haven’t accomplished everything on my 26 by 26 list, but I think I’ve done an okay job of picking out the important things and adapting the others. If there’s anything I’ve learned in the last (almost) two years, it’s that being adaptable is one of the best skills you can have in life.

Anyway, I’m happy to announce that the fall weather is here. I’m not too happy about the rain, but the layers and snuggly scarves are keeping me cozy. Here’s hoping the winter weather holds off until after I leave for Sri Lanka!

Leave a Reply

