Sri Lanka Day 2: Chicks in Ventilated Boxes

Waking up beach side never gets old. I personally think it’s the best option to cure jet lag. I’ve never been good at setting my internal clock forward. It’s just not natural to me. Why would you want to skip forward through life? To wake up to the beach. That’s why.

This morning marked the beginning of my adventure with Work the World. The last 12 hours in Sri Lanka had made me both nervous and excited. At first, I couldn’t get a hold of my program manager. Then, the only nearby ATM was out of order. For about 20 minutes, I was convinced I was going to be stuck in Negombo placement-less and cash-less. But after breakfast, I took a walk along the beach, dipped my toes in the Indian Ocean and found a brief friend and source of entertainment in a stray dog. By the time I got back to the hotel, my ride was just arriving, I had just enough cash to cover my bill, my bags were packed and I was ready to hit the road.

Hitting the road is a bit more complicated here in Sri Lanka than it is in other countries. According to one of the guide books, Sri Lankans drive on the left, but that’s about the only rule. What I learned today is that driving on the left is more like a guideline than a rule. To an outsider it is chaotic and terrifying, especially when you’re about three inches from a neighboring tuk-tuk, straddling the center line, with a bus driving directly at you on hairpin turns up a giant hill.

Arriving at the Work the World house about three hours later, I was happy to see that there was a ringleader for the weekend adventures. This weekend will include a trip to Galle and the southern coast via train with two of the girls from the house.

As we were looking into purchasing tickets online, we were asked to input all the traditional data: date, departing station, arriving station. But when it came to the “item” question we were a bit confused. The options included various types of livestock in containers. In particular, “chicks in ventilated boxes”. Although we had finally realized we were not on the appropriate booking page for passengers, we couldn’t help but draw a comparison between our drive to Kandy and our potential booking blunder.

Leave a Reply

