Sri Lanka Day 5: How many people in your family?

Every culture has their own line of questioning when it comes to meeting new people. In the U.S. we tend to ask people what their profession is first after learning their names. In Sri Lanka, their focus is somewhat different.

The general introductions today went like this:

Me: Hi. I’m Kaitlin.
Them: Quizzical look. What is your name?
Me: Kait-lin.
Them: Quizzical look. How many people in your family?

And don’t ask me how, but after telling people I have one brother, everyone knew I was the oldest.

Today was my first day at Kandy General Hospital. It is amazing how crazy, chaotic and busy that place is, especially in the morning. I have never seen so many people crammed into hallways and waiting areas. I knew first impressions were crucial so I tried to get to know each of the physios in the department or at least tried to answer all their questions (they were never-ending). I think the hardest part was trying to share my thought process regarding patients and ideas for treatment when I relied so heavily on the translations coming from the other physios who already had ideas of their own. Still, I enjoyed myself and I’m looking forward to finding my groove in the department.

Leave a Reply

