Sri Lanka Weekend #1: Nikan Innawa

Americans are busy bodies. We always seem to have to be doing something. We can’t simply just sit.  We can’t seem to just enjoy doing nothing, nikan innawa, as the locals call it.

So, leave it to me to take time off by cramming in a holiday to the beach after the chaotic week I’ve just had. I may have only been in Sri Lanka for a week, but I needed to reset. So, I hit the ground running all the way to Galle. A tuk-tuk, two train rides, and one more tuk-tuk later, here I am in a real bed with real pillows and a room with an AC unit. All three of us (me and my travel partners, not me and my other personalities) are relishing in the free wi-fi and I, personally, am enjoying connecting with the world back home for a brief spell. We’ve filled the days with good food, good drinks, a trip to the beach, exploring and a little detective work.

One of my favorite things to do when I’m lounging about is to try to figure out as much as possible about a person or group of people without even talking to them. The beach is one of the best places to do just that. Sunglasses on, cog wheels turning… It’s both entertaining and it keeps me from feeling like I’m doing nothing.

Galle is much less chaotic than Kandy and its fort and beaches are absolutely beautiful. I’m actually glad placement isn’t in a coastal town like this, I don’t think I would ever get anything done.

Leave a Reply

