Sri Lanka Day 10: There are spirits coming to find me. They’re not stopping ’til it’s done. I can feel them taking me over.

Today was one of the first days in my physiotherapy “career” when I truly felt confident in my assessment and treatment skills. I am by no means perfect or a seasoned professional, but when it came time to sink or swim today, I swam. Still, the dynamic here is quite different to what I’ve experienced on any of my other placements and it has taken some adjusting. I’m not sure I have quite the rapport with my supervisor that I usually have or that I expect or desire, but it’s still early days–day three in hospital to be exact.

This week there are only two of us in the house. The other two are away on the ayurvedic medicine experience which I will do during my last week in Sri Lanka. Having four people in a house built for 21 has been less than cramped, but coming from living on my own, it’s been nice to have just that slight bit of more space to myself. The quiet is comforting after a long day in the hot and hectic walls of the hospital. As much as I love the hustle and bustle that comes with traveling, I do appreciate the time I have to simply relax and soak it all in. It’s been a bit overwhelming to experience so much in the last ten days and know that it’s only the beginning. I still have five weeks here in Sri Lanka!

Photos

Leave a Reply

