Sri Lanka Weekend 3: It’s a Small World After All

People always say we live in a small world. I have found this to be true more than once. It is never more true than in the world of a traveler.

This weekend produced another example of how small the world is.

This past June, I holidayed in Granada, Spain. While I was there I met an Australian guy who was half way through a year-long globetrotting adventure. He was taking a year off work and just going wherever the moment took him. When we were talking and I mentioned I was heading to Sri Lanka later in the year, he mentioned he might also be visiting this tiny little island. We never exchanged emails or even became Facebook friends, so I never had any idea where his adventures were taking him.

On Friday night. I ventured out to the local ex-pat pub with the girls from the house for a few cocktails. It had been a rough week and we were ready to put it behind us. After we sat down with our drinks menus, I was struck by the sound of a familiar voice at the table next to us. I sat quietly trying to place the voice until I figured out where I recognized it from. When he finally turned in my direction I was able to confirm that it was, in fact, the guy I had met in Spain. Unfortunately, I didn’t get the chance to talk to him before he left, but just running into him on the other side of the globe from where we first met confirmed to me once again that this world we live in is small.

The weekend continued on in fun fashion with a new arrival to the house on Saturday morning, a bit of sightseeing in Kandy, and the climactic pick-up of my custom jewelry. My roommate left on Saturday evening and I’m left in the the daunting position of being the oldest person in the house (at least for the weekend). I get a brief reprieve from my elderly status during the week, but after Friday I’ll be on full-time house elder duties. The thought of me being the responsible and wise one is a bit terrifying, but I welcome the challenge.

I was glad to have some relatively low key days away from the hospital as the next three weeks are shaping up to be jam-packed full of activity. Next weekend takes me to Colombo and Trimcomalee. Potentially the following weekend will be Yala National Park and Arugam Bay–those plans are still in the works.

Pictures

Leave a Reply

